From left: Andra Self, Matt Knight, Hall Henderson, Allyson Langston, Scott Skelton, Kristi Gay. Not pictured: Delphina Hadnot-Maxie.

Tonight at the Lufkin ISD School Board meeting, the board was acknowledged for School Board Recognition Month. The Texas Association of School Boards dedicates the month of January as School Board Recognition Month.

“The state has chosen the theme ‘Forward Together’ and I can’t think of a better group that works well together than our Lufkin ISD board,” said Sheila Adams, Ex. Director of Communications.

The governor of Texas Greg Abbott annually proclaims January as School Board Recognition Month. In a proclamation, he states:

“School boards play a vital role in our efforts to improve education in the Lone Star State. Across Texas, dedicated school boards work with parents, educators, and community members to create successful learning environments,” reads a portion of the 2023 proclamation. “While school districts will always face new challenges as they serve the needs of students, Texans can count on their school board members, along with other dedicated school officials, to weather these trials, create opportunities to discuss important issues, develop innovative solutions, and empower educators while remaining focused on their students’ futures.”

The Lufkin ISD trustees received baskets filled with goodies from students and campus staff.

Lufkin ISD board members include Hall Henderson, president;  Kristi Gay, vice president; Allyson Langston, secretary; Andra Self; Delphina Maxie; Matt Knight and Scott Skelton.