Twenty school leaders were recently named TEPSANs of the Year by the Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA). Cindy Nerren, principal of Anderson Elementary, received the recognition for Region 7.

Members from the 20 TEPSA Regions across the state annually honor a colleague for their outstanding service to the association. Award recipients must be committed to advancing the principalship and the association, as well as serving as a voice for Texas students. Honorees will be recognized this summer.

Nerren started her career at Lufkin ISD as a 3rd grade Gifted & Talented teacher at Brandon Elementary. She then became an Instructional Coach at both Kurth Primary and then Brandon Elementary. Her first principalship was at Trout Primary in 2014. This past year, she transferred to Anderson Elementary as principal.

“We’re in awe of these leaders! They’re working harder than ever to serve their students and staff, yet they continue to support and advocate for educators in their region. We’re honored to recognize their tremendous work and servant leadership,” said TEPSA Executive Director Harley Eckhart.

TEPSA, whose hallmark is educational leaders learning with and from each other, has served Texas PK-8 school leaders since 1917. Member owned and member governed, TEPSA has more than 5,900 members who direct the activities of more than 3 million PK-8 school children. Learn more at