Eleven Lufkin High School students were awarded the Texas Music Scholar Award, a statewide music award.The students were honored as Texas Music Scholars, acknowledging their outstanding scholastic merit, musicianship, and citizenship within school and community. Those who received the recognition are: Philip Callaway, Graham Childers, Katelyn Clifton, Koryn Currier, Paige Hoelewyn, Madeline McCollum, Ryan McKelvey, Jaylen Sowell, JaNyla Wilkerson, Kirsten Wilson.

The students were nominated for this honor by their director, Nicole Stewart, and the award is given by the Texas Music Educators Association, which sponsors the Texas All-State Bands, Orchestras and Choirs.

The Texas Music Educators Association, headquartered in Austin, Texas, is an association of more than 13,000 music teachers whose goals are to support music education in Texas, provide professional growth opportunities for educators, foster public support for music in schools, and offer quality musical experiences for students. To find out more about the association, click here.