Fourteen Lufkin High School choir students received the Texas Music Scholars recognition. This award is given to students who have exhibited outstanding qualities in scholastic merit, musicianship and citizenship in their school and community during the 2022-23 school year.

Nicole Stewart, Lufkin High School choir teacher, nominated the students for this honor, and the award was given by the Texas Music Educators Association, which sponsors the Texas All-State Bands, Orchestras and Choirs. Last year fewer than 1,800 students were named as Texas Music Scholars.

The Texas Music Educators Association, headquartered in Austin, Texas, is an association of over 13,000 music teachers whose goals are to support music education in Texas, provide professional growth opportunities for educators, foster public support for music in schools and offer quality musical experiences for students.

Congratulations to these very talented students!