From left: J.B. Smith, Crime Stoppers Executive Director; Crystal Thomas, Crime Stoppers board member; Lynn Torres, Lufkin ISD Superintendent; Jeff Taylor, Lufkin ISD Police Dept.; Allan Riddle, Crime Stoppers board member; Tony Bishop, Crime Stoppers board member.

The Deep East Texas Crime Stoppers board recently approved the purchase of LED Rechargeable Traffic Control Flares for the Lufkin ISD Police Dept. The request was made by Lufkin ISD Police Officer Jeff Taylor who felt these devices were a necessity when directing traffic and reducing accidents around the district’s fifteen campuses and school events.

According to the Vevor flares manufacturer’s website, the 6PCS LED Emergency Strobe Light is a rechargeable LED disc road flares emergency strobe light that has high quality and visibility. The light can be used in multiple locations such as on the ground to help show where there is a traffic warning, and the lights are magnetic so they can be placed on metal.
“The addition of these LED Road Flares will greatly enhance the safety of our Law Enforcement and Security Officers during traffic direction at both Lufkin High School, Lufkin Middle School, sporting events and graduation. Following a recent incident earlier this month involving one of our Security Officers the addition of this piece of equipment will be greatly appreciated,” said Officer Taylor.

Several members of the Deep East Texas Crime Stoppers board met today to present the lights to the Lufkin ISD Police Dept. They were able to purchase 15 sets of lights to be used across the district.

“This project will assist in bringing more awareness to motorists that attend our events, which would hopefully reduce accidents. Therefore reducing the need for a law enforcement response. We appreciate the Crime Stoppers board making this decision to supply our department with the equipment we need to keep our students, staff and community safe,” said Officer Taylor.

Deep East Texas Crime Stoppers, Inc. is a non-profit organization (a charity) with a Board of Directors comprised of citizens from the East Texas area providing direction as to the financial and promotional activities of the Program.