Tara Watson-Watkins was recognized as the outgoing board president for the Lufkin ISD Education Foundation. Pictured from left: Hall Henderson, Lufkin ISD board member; Andra Self, Lufkin ISD board member; Dr. LaTonya Goffney, Lufkin ISD Superintendent; Tara Watson-Watkins, past president of Lufkin ISD Education Foundation; Vickie Evans, Director of Lufkin ISD Education Foundation; Kristi Gay, Lufkin ISD board member; Scott Skelton, Lufkin ISD board president; Andro Branch, Lufkin ISD vice-president. In her report, Mrs. Watson-Watkins discussed the 22 grants in the amount of more than $54,000 that were given to teachers last week for innovative ideas in their classroom.

Sophia Carver and Anika Mikalauskis from Lufkin High School designed artwork that was chosen for the First Congressional District Art Contest and Exhibition. Sophia Carver’s piece won 3rd place which allowed her artwork to be hung at Louie Gohmert’s office in Tyler, Texas. Sophia Carver (left) is pictured with Denise Davis, LHS art teacher (middle) and Anika Mikalauskis (right) with board president Scott Skelton and Superintendent Dr. LaTonya Goffney.


Myrna Ramirez was recognized for designing a Christmas ornament for the State Capitol’s 23-foot Christmas tree. Representative Trent Ashby reached out to Lufkin Middle School art teacher Mrs. Sylvia Hayes who identified Myrna Ramirez to create the ornament. The ornament was inspired by the trees in East Texas and the Thundering 13 who included some students from her grade.